2017

I have been listening and reading and consuming news – the real stuff – and trying to figure out how best to use my own words in a country that, at times, has been hard to recognize. Along with SO MANY OF YOU, I have been giving, signing, calling, connecting, and showing up, out of love and hope and a belief that this is a call to action that cannot go unanswered. And there are SO MANY WAYS to be involved right now. It’s a beautiful thing, and in all of this beauty (and anger and sadness), I resolve – hold me to this, please – to continue writing.

To close out 2016, I want to share my interview with Matthew Barrett, who authored the winning short story during my time as guest reader at SmokeLong Quarterly. “The Father’s Story” and our interview was published in the December 2016 issue of SLQ, and since I have not been here since then to share the interview itself, here is the link. The interview responses are fantastic. I hope you’ll check them out!

On the Sunday before Inauguration Day, Connotation Press published a video called “Standing Together” and I’m honored to have taken part in it. This is again the magic of Meg Tuite and Ken Robidoux, and I can’t thank them enough for their spirit, generosity, and leadership. Watch it here. (You may remember another video they produced shortly before the election called “Women Inspire”- I posted about it then and will link to that post here in case you missed it and would like to learn more.)

Stay tuned for my next post, which will be a review of the latest release by author Gill Hoffs, THE LOST STORY OF THE WILLIAM & MARY: THE COWARDICE OF CAPTAIN STINSON, which I’m very excited to share! You may remember Gill from a review I posted back in September. (And, spoiler, if you missed that post, I will make it easy for you: please proceed to your nearest bookseller and ask for/order THE SINKING OF RMS TAYLEUR: THE LOST STORY OF THE ‘VICTORIAN TITANIC’. You can also read that review again here.)

In the meantime, while you are brushing up on THE HANDMAID’S TALE and 1984, find yourself a copy of Sady Doyle’s TRAINWRECK, which I just finished a few days ago and highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

